Booze and Poker

2

June 13, 2008 by vinylburns

Toby swaggered past me and took a seat to my left.

I was slightly above average stack, normally a psychologically healthy place to be, but in my case, I’d come down from being the instant chip leader with over five times the starting stack. A set of fours and a fruitless pursuit of the nut flush with a double bellybuster, left me sitting around 50,000 chips.

Toby was drunk. Toby was also drinking. It’s one thing to be drunk, but to be drunk AND still drinking… leads to being A drunk.

Toby, slipped up, misreading his 7 4 as pocket 7’s, and losing all but 200 chips… At this point, the blinds were 1000/2000 with 200 antes. So, Toby could afford the Ante, and that was it.

Except… that wasn’t it. He “eleventuppled” up, then trippled up from 2200 to around 6000… eventually, he hit the best of the best and chopped for $800.00

The finest moment in this monumental drunken & belligerent comeback was when, true to prior warnings, speculation and sidebetting… Toby turned behind him, mid hand, hurled into the recycling bin, turned back and pushed all in. He turned again, spat, turned back, and saw that he had won the pot… He turned, paused, spat again, turned back and raked in the chips… Flawless.

The true spirit of a card player can sometimes be hidden beneath a stale crust of sobriety. We owe it to ourselves as gentlemen of the felt, to drink ourselves to the final table and push the chips all in, as we push our dinner all out.

I’m Vinyl Burns.

2 thoughts on “Booze and Poker

  1. […] Robo Harrier wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptToby swaggered past me and took a seat to my left. I was slightly above average stack, normally a psychologically healthy place to be, but in my case, I’d come down from being the instant chip leader with over five times the starting … […]

Leave a Reply

Dr Vinyl Burns

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,039 other followers

Links

My Management: Kiwi Comedy Ltd.

My DJ Mixes: DJ Vinyl Burns

My Podcast: Jesus It's Early

Top Posts & Pages

