I believe in Galas

Leave a comment

June 14, 2008 by vinylburns

I had the privilege to be invited to attend the fundraising Gala of the Waterloo Arts Festival, and I have to just say how delightful it was to be invited. I don’t often attend such high profile events as the attention I usually draw tends to pull focus from the actual event – usually a fundraiser, compelling me to make a generous contribution to the cause. While this is of little financial impact to myself, the generous nature of my offering often leaves everyone with an awkward embarrassed aftertaste in their mouths, so I try to avoid the whole difficult scene by staying out of the public eye, and just placing a small classified ad in the paper outlining the size of my charitable donation, and also my coming tour dates.

Last Thursday however, I broke my own little rule… braved the swiveling heads, the flashbulbs of the paparazzi, the persuasive touch of lady hospitality… I attended.

Out of pure modesty, I resisted the urge to out bid everyone on each of the silent auctions… instead, I simply stood, drank, flirted and left with a few of the more sophisticated ladies of the night.

I believe in supporting the festivals that will grow to support me. I believe in Hilby the Skinny German Juggleboy. I believe in love. I believe in magic. I believe the children need a futon, bed them well and night will soon be day. I believe in the Waterloo Arts Festival.

I believe in Ladies.

Leave a Reply

Dr Vinyl Burns

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,037 other followers

Links

My Management: Kiwi Comedy Ltd.

My DJ Mixes: DJ Vinyl Burns

My Podcast: Jesus It's Early

Top Posts & Pages

