A modest year later…

Leave a comment

January 16, 2012 by vinylburns

Hey Jingly Ho,

Flying Vee

Here we are a full year on from this time last summer, wishing it was still last month, so we had Christmas to fret over and a couple of shady office parties to regret, or possibly follow up on.

This time last year, I was bringing myself up to festival pace, in anticipation of the Christchurch World Buskers Festival.  Running through my hefty rider, connecting with my rep at Hallensteins, priming my twitterazzi kids with my schedule and preferred lighting angles… and of course, meeting the press.

This little interview slid under the radar, but was by far my favorite interview of the year, at that point at least.  I really felt they captured me in this candid exposé of a conversation, conducted via sms, courtesy of the twitter network and an old pay phone in Picton.

The gist of the talk is written out below, or if you’d like to read it in it’s original location, you can do exactly that, here:

http://www.christchurchnz.com

INTRODUCING – VINYL BURNS

Vinyl Burns

From the World Buskers Festival 2011

A hit in 1972 Las Vegas, Vinyl Burns’ show-biz career has dwindled and he is no longer the icon he believes himself to be (but don’t let him know that!). After relocating his international playboy lifestyle to New Zealand, Christchurch now has the privilege of his effervescent company. And…though his style and grace need a bit of polishing, his charm is still top notch.

1. What are the key responsibilities of a busker?

To fill the population with wonderful dreams of what magical impossibilities might manifest themselves, with just a tiny spark of imagination, and a total disregard for any advice you were ever given.

 

2. What’s the first thing you do on a Saturday morning?

Fling a dart at the ‘What’s for breakfast’ board.

3. What are you reading at the moment?

A hard hitting, journalistic questionnaire, and revealing my darkest secrets. OK, I know that’s not what you meant. I also know that to mention that I often re-read my own blog at http://www.vinylburns.com – would be a cheap misappropriation of this opportunity to endear myself to the delightful and good looking people of Canterbury.

 

4. If you were to be stranded on an island, which three things would you take with you?

John Donne famously said; ‘No man is on an island’ …at least, I think that’s what he said…I overheard it at an airport one time. If I were ever on an island for more than a weekend, i’d bring my maid…(that sand gets EVERYWHERE). P.S – That’s a weird question to ask someone who’s currently on an island.

 

5. If I invited myself over to your house for dinner, using only the contents in your fridge right now, what would you make me?

Wind.

6. Where would you rather be right now?

To be honest, I feel a littler cornered by the double edged, confrontational nature of that question, yet I still can’t think of anywhere else i’d prefer to be than right here, answering these questions with you and my maid, on my tropical sandy island beach, writing another blog post and flinging velcro darts at the ‘What’s for breakfast’ board…*sigh* Coconut again.

 

7. What advice would you give to your 15 year old self?

You can buy that now, but it won’t be cool for 10 years.

 

8. If you could only ever go one place in the world on holiday for the rest of your life – where would it be?

I would enter The Matrix™.

 

9. If you could acquire one new skill within the next 24 hours, what would it be?

Levitation.  Who wouldn’t vote for a guy who floats???

 

10. What’s one thing most people do not know about you?

I used to be in the CIA.

That’s it kiddo’s… Oh, and if you’ve read this far, then you can obviously handle the charisma, so why not spread the love to people YOU love.  Send your friends to www.vinylburns.com for a taste of the electric licky licky man.

Vinyl Burns – Everybody’s favorite flooring material & temperate state.

Leave a Reply

Dr Vinyl Burns

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,039 other followers

Links

My Management: Kiwi Comedy Ltd.

My DJ Mixes: DJ Vinyl Burns

My Podcast: Jesus It's Early

Top Posts & Pages

